Collegiate Disc Golf Champions Crowned

4338 0

Another chapter is in the books for one of disc golf’s most celebrated events, the National Collegiate Disc Golf Championships. The attendance of more than 60 teams made this year’s Collegiate the largest and most successful in its 9-year history.

Pageantry. School pride. Teamwork. These are just some of the unique elements that make the Collegiate Championships special. Team members arrive decked out in uniforms reflecting their school colors. They travel together, share meals together, strategize, and compete together. They play for something much more than themselves individually; they compete for each other and for the logo on their jersey.


This year there were several tightly contested battles across the divisions. Not everyone could go home with trophy in hand, however everyone went home a winner in that they shared an unforgettable, competitive experience with close friends who share their passion for disc golf. It is no surprise that the Collegiate Championships, and intercollegiate competition in general, continue to rapidly gain momentum.

2015 Collegiate Disc Golf Champions:

Men’s National Champion – Team – Ferris State
Men’s National Champion – Individual – James Proctor, Nevada-Reno

Women’s National Champion – Team – California State-Monterey Bay
Women’s National Champion – Individual – Camille Skweir, Humboldt State

First Flight Champion – Team – Ferris State
First Flight Champion – Individual – Hobie Hein, Indian Hills Community College

Second Flight Champion – Team – Ferris State
Second Flight Champion – Individual – Joshua Kaufman, Ferris State

NIT Finals – Team – Wisconsin-Stevens Point


While disc golf’s most talented student athletes battled in North Augusta, many Innova team members were laying down hot rounds around the world. Here is a summary of our weekend winners:

Camilla Grunden – Copenhagen Open, 1st Place Open Women
Alexis Mandujano – Texas Women’s Championship, 1st Place Int Women
Debbie Scott – Azalea Open, 1st Place Open Women
Brian Schweberger – Azalea Open, 1st Place Masters
Steve Brinster – The Philly Open, 1st Place Open
Hannah Leatherman – The Philly Open, 1st Place Open Women
Stephen Miller – 18th Annual Spring Pro/Am, 1st Place Open
Karina Nowels – Treasure Valley Cup, 1st Place Open Women
Steve Loyd – Treasure Valley Cup, 1st Place Masters
Matt Peckham – Jacksonville Open, 1st Place Masters
Jim Oates – The Legend of Lizard Peak, 1st Place GM


The weeknd also saw two A-tier events. The 2015 Copenhagen Open was held in Denmark, marking the third stop on the EuroTour. Pasi Koivu and Karl Johan Nybo would share second place with Jalle Stoor. Seppo Paju cruised to victory after a brilliant, second round 53.

Back in the US, sixty-three ladies converged on Round Rock, TX for the Texas Women’s Championships. Des Reading blasted out of the gates with a 44 in round one; a score that carries a rating of 1039! She cooled off down the stretch but still took home an impressive 2nd place finish. Madison Walker also had a strong outing finishing in 4th place.