McBeth Outguns Lizotte in Texas

4804 0
Paul McBeth and Discmania’s Simon Lizotte lead the charge in Houston, TX this weekend, as nearly 300 competitors were in town for the 20th Annual Texas State Disc Golf Championship. It was nip and tuck between the two until the final round where Lizotte slipped just a bit, which was all Paul needed to seal the deal with a 4-shot win. Nate Sexton started off slowly in round one but rallied down the stretch, including an ace in the final round, to lock up 4th place.

Took 4th place at the Texas States A-tier, and hit a $637 Hole in One in the final round!! I threw my Discmania C-line DD on a slight backhand hyzer into some stiff wind. 330-340 foot hole!

Posted by Nate Sexton on Sunday, March 29, 2015

Jennifer Allen and Des Reading finished 3rd and 4th among Open Women. The world’s top ranked female, Paige Pierce, was just too much to handle in her home state. In Masters it was JD Ramirez grabbing 2nd place, with Jay Reading just one shot back in 3rd.


Team Innova grabbed a host of other wins around the country. Melodie Bailey was victorious at the Aloha Sushi Classic in Walla Walla, WA. In Norman, OK Mitch McClellan took home the top spot at the 16th Annual Duncan Lake HillClimber. Danielle Vargas joined Mitch in the winner’s circle, after a nice win in Open Women.

Back east it was Calvin Heimburg and Pam Reineke who pulled off a similar one-two punch. Calvin won Open at The 22nd Sizzler in Coconut Creek, FL, while Pam bested the field in Open Women. And just up the road in Winchester, VA it was Innova’s newest Ambassador, Bob Cannon, taking home the Masters title at the Winchester IFO.

The weekend’s other A-tier event was the Daniel Boe Memorial in Escondido, CA. Those in attendance were there to celebrate the life of Daniel Boe, who lost his life in a car accident in February of last year. Daniel was only 26 years old. Our hearts go out to Daniel’s family and friends. We would also like to thank those who attended this special event as their presence alone brought joy to many and was a reminder of the sense of community that makes disc golf so special for us all.

While we consider everyone who attended the Daniel Boe Memorial to be a winner, here are the individual winners in each division:

Open – Ricky Wysocki
Open Women – Ohn Scoggins
Masters – Richard Ewald
Grandmasters – Jeff Nichols
Senior Grandmasters – Frank Bochinski
Advanced – Edwin Rodriguez
Advanced Women – Kim Cottrell
Advanced Masters – Kris Kiler
Advanced Grandmasters – Kerry Gauhran
Intermediate – Anthony Moreno
Recreational – Steve Coryell
Recreational Women – Nicole Ernis
Thank you to our team members in attendance including: Philo Brathwaite, Max Nichols, Kyle Eckmann, Jake LaPutka, Vanessa Van Dyken, Juliana Korver, Chris Brophy, Steve Boylan, and Allen Risley.