Innova Sweeps Up at Hall of Fame Classic

19746 0

Innova Sweeps Up at Hall of Fame Classic
Team Innova swept the pro divisions at the Hall of Fame Classic at the International Disc Golf Center in Georgia. The battle for first place in the open division swapped places between Will Schusterick and Dave Feldberg throughout the tournament.

It was a close battle until the eighth hole of the final nine. Ahead by one stroke, Will’s tee shot clipped a tree, forcing a double bogey after an unfortunate splashdown in the creek. Dave carded the birdie and the lead had changed, Dave now had it by two. Will attempted the rare deuce on the final hole, but missed, allowing Dave to lay up for the win.

Innova claimed the top five in the open division: Dave Feldberg 1st, Will Schusterick 2nd, Josh Childs 3rd, Avery Jenkins 4th, and Ken Climo 5th. Sarah Stanhope put together an excellent first round to lead the tournament wire to wire against teammate, Valarie Jenkins. Phil Arthur won by five in the Pro Masters division, and Dr. Rick Voakes won Grandmasters over Alan Beaver who tied for 2nd.

New World Record GUTS Throw-and-Catch

Dave Nesbitt has been on a mission to get the world record for the fastest caught GUTS throw. The current record, set last year was 123 km an hour. He spent the afternoon on Saturday trying to catch throws from the most powerful throwers in disc golf. He finally caught a missile from the hand of Garrett Gurthie of 124 kilometer per hour (over 77 miles an hour). Lots of players attempted to share the record with Dave, but Garrett’s throw was the only record-breaker to be caught. Ouch!

More Action Around the World

At the Copenhagen Open, Karl Johan Nybo had a two stroke lead over teammate, Markus Källström, which ballooned to an eight stroke win after he shredded the finals, beating Markus by six strokes. Oscar Stenfelt, one of our younger team players took 4th place.

At the Spike Hyzer event in Lumberton, NC it was a battle of giants. It came down to the very last putt, but Terry Gallops won by a stroke of Brian Schweberger. Joe Rovere wins in Colorado at the Grateful Disc Spring Open. In St. Louis, Paul Ulibarri took 4th place, and Adam Hunt took 5th. Steve Loyd wins Masters at the Aloha Sushi Classic in Walla Walla Washington.

2011 Ricky of the Year?

Ricky Wysocki has been on a tear in his rookie season. He won the Junior World Championships in Ohio last summer, and this year, he’s scoring up a lot of first place titles. His latest win came in Michigan, where he won by 18 strokes over his nearest competitor. What makes this even more amazing is that it was a two round tournament. 18 strokes over 36 holes!. With 9 wins this year so far, Ricky is the man to beat for Rookie of the Year.